Skip to content
Oxford Counts — Oxford, in numbers.Local help →

Oxford · England

People and living standards

Oxford council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Oxford

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Oxford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 128,907 in 1991 to 165,940 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Oxford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 130,063 people in 1996; 165,940 people in 2025. 27.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Oxford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991128,907
1992128,801
1993128,002
1994127,671
1995128,547
1996130,063
1997133,230
1998134,563
1999136,507
2000136,597
2001135,509
2002136,625
2003139,917
2004141,593
2005145,383
2006144,513
2007144,188
2008144,433
2009145,478
2010147,907
2011150,245
2012152,407
2013154,916
2014157,582
2015158,156
2016160,119
2017160,754
2018161,342
2019160,789
2020160,064
2021160,379
2022164,237
2023167,251
2024167,827
2025165,940
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Oxford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,557 people in 1996; 24,285 people in 2025. 7.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Oxford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,398
199221,922
199322,148
199422,319
199522,450
199622,557
199723,007
199823,298
199922,885
200022,152
200121,456
200221,210
200321,274
200421,234
200521,650
200622,093
200722,674
200823,456
200924,152
201024,559
201125,100
201225,821
201326,269
201426,610
201526,643
201626,991
201726,833
201826,593
201926,081
202025,462
202125,088
202224,918
202325,164
202424,980
202524,285
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Oxford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 89,453 people in 1996; 121,246 people in 2025. 35.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Oxford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199189,343
199288,692
199387,706
199487,230
199587,964
199689,453
199792,168
199893,353
199995,930
200096,957
200196,581
200298,102
2003101,496
2004103,578
2005106,955
2006105,908
2007105,120
2008104,632
2009104,883
2010106,729
2011108,446
2012109,587
2013111,366
2014113,374
2015113,659
2016115,206
2017115,809
2018116,397
2019116,017
2020115,819
2021116,136
2022119,847
2023122,250
2024122,758
2025121,246
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Oxford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,053 people in 1996; 20,409 people in 2025. 13.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Oxford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,166
199218,187
199318,148
199418,122
199518,133
199618,053
199718,055
199817,912
199917,692
200017,488
200117,472
200217,313
200317,147
200416,781
200516,778
200616,512
200716,394
200816,345
200916,443
201016,619
201116,699
201216,999
201317,281
201417,598
201517,854
201617,922
201718,112
201818,352
201918,691
202018,783
202119,155
202219,472
202319,837
202420,089
202520,409
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 162,040 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oxford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh24,99115.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,5354.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9,0055.6%
White114,56170.7%
Other ethnic group5,9483.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 151,906 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oxford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,95777.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6,0354%
Asian/Asian British18,82712.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British7,0284.6%
Other ethnic group2,0591.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 134,248 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oxford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White116,94887.1%
Mixed3,2392.4%
Asian/Asian British6,4714.8%
Black/Black British3,3682.5%
Chinese/Other4,2223.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Oxford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,919 per person in 1997; £26,153 per person in 2024. 139.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Oxford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,919
199811,112
199911,564
200012,256
200112,825
200213,185
200313,238
200413,755
200513,742
200614,865
200715,345
200815,620
200916,328
201015,943
201116,086
201216,837
201317,258
201417,692
201518,806
201618,943
201719,686
201820,385
201921,575
202021,260
202122,064
202223,303
202324,655
202426,153
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Oxford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 2.9% in 1997; 0.7% in 2024. 2.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Oxford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19972.9
19982.6
19992.2
20003
20013.7
20024.2
20031.6
20041.3
2005-2.2
20061.5
20070
2008-0.8
20092
2010-1.3
2011-1.3
2012-0.3
2013-1.5
2014-2.2
2015-1.1
2016-1.6
2017-0.1
2018-0.1
20192.4
20201.3
20211
20221.5
20230.8
20240.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Oxford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.6%

21 March 2021 · Oxford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.3%

21 March 2021 · Oxford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£472,000

July 2026 · Oxford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,963

August 2026 · Oxford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.